Welcome to Wilderness! by Kate

9 Aug

It’s festival time of year again! And despite being pretty sure I’d never rough it in a field armed only with a tent for shelter after my 10 days at Glastonbury last year, I’m looking forward to putting my wet and muddy experience behind me and getting into the festival spirit again!

Photo by Pressthebigredbutton via Flickr

I’ve packed my tent, sleeping bag, wellies, cagoule and plenty of cosy socks (oh and the odd pair of flip flops and a sun hat just in case) and this year I’m delighted to be involved in the Wilderness Festival.

Photo via Wilderness Festival

This 3 day festival, 10th-12th August, nestled deep in the beautiful Cotswolds at Cornbury Deer Park, isn’t your average festival. With lakeside spas, yoga and theatre sitting alongside live bands, dance tents and late night parties, Wilderness promises to be great fun. But for me, the best bit is the food! There is a huge celebration of artisan food and provenance.

Not only are there banquets from Valentine Warner, Fergus Henderson and St John, and Yotam Ottolenghi but there’s the Moro Souk Tent (that’ll take me back to last year’s trip to Morocco) and, last but definitely not least, the place you’ll find me and a delicious pot of Lahloo Tea, the wonderful Thyme at Wilderness.

Now, since I was invited to take part in the recent Foodie Bugle Lectures at Thyme at Southrop I’ve become a big fan of what they do and when I got a call asking me to take part in their pop-up food school at Wilderness, I jumped at the chance.

Thyme at Wilderness will be a tented hamlet of food talks (that’s where I come in! well, tea talks), cooking classes and tasting sessions – a feast in every sense. And I can’t wait to share a litte bit more about Lahloo and our tea with anyone who fancies coming along on Saturday morning. We’ll be taking a journey through the senses on a magical mystical tea world tour!

Meet our tea heroes!

Starting with

– cold-infused refreshing Kenyan White Whisper (a juicy fruity silver needle tea)

– revitalising Jade Cloud from China  (a crisp, chestnutty green tea)

– cold-infused sumptuous Nepalese Himalayan oolong (an intriguing oolong with hints of raw cacao nibs)

– fragrant Indian Darjeeling First Flush (floral, fruity – the champagne of tea)

– and finally just what the doctor ordered on a Saturday morning, Smoky Bloody Mary made with cinnamon smoked Sri Lankan Smoky

We’ll also be smoking trout over Earl Grey and serving up pots and pots of fortifying Kenyan Grandpa’s Anytime tea (crafted by 112 year old Arthur and his farm) throughout the day.

It’s going to be tasty! See you there!

Kate

2 Responses to “Welcome to Wilderness! by Kate”

  1. Elee August 26, 2012 at 16:50 #

    Just visited Lahloo in Clifton, Bristol, tried your Matcha…Mmm, instant clarity! balancing too.

    • lahlootea August 28, 2012 at 09:05 #

      Thanks, Elee! Glad you liked it! It’s delicious and its effects are incredible too.

Leave a Reply

