J’adore les macarons!

11 Apr

Kate in Paris

The first time I ever went to Paris I fell in love. Paris is a truly magical city full of wonderful and inspiring sights, sounds, shops, cafes, chic-ness, food and drink. One of my lasting memories of Paris will always be the first time I spotted macaroons! Wandering and cycling (my favourite thing to do in Paris) through the chic streets of Paris, we stumbled across Laduree, a beautiful almost fairytale-like patisserie and salon du the.  Oozing with style and indulgence, I just had to go in.

Laduree has been making beautiful patisserie since 1862 but what they’re really famous for is, macaroons. Not only do their eye-catching candy colours look beautiful but these bite-sized little meringues are just delicious. Ever since I first bit into the crisp outer shell and sunk my teeth sumptuously into the soft, smooth inside they have become my favourite tea time treat.

Sadahuru Aoki Patisserie

I went to Paris a couple of weeks ago and discovered Sadahuru Aoki’s beautiful Japanese-French patisserie full of stunning looking and sensationally tasting tea inspired patisserie. His Matcha Millefeuille and Zen cakes were incredible and just right with a cup of Japanese green tea after our long cycle uphill to get there!

Matcha Millefeuille

Zen cake

Once we’d savoured our wonderful patisserie and felt utterly revitalised, we couldn’t resist bringing some of his wonderful treats back to the Lahloo hub. It’s really difficult to find good macaroons in Bristol (although you can find them in London: Laduree in Harrods and the Burlington ArcadePierre Herme‘s pop-up in Selfridges and more recently Bougie in Covent Garden) so I brought a whole box of tea and Japanese inspired macarons – Genmaicha, Matcha, Hojicha, Yuzu and Sesame. What a treat! You see, they are just the right texture, size and sweetness to go with a cup of Lahloo tea – crisp and chewy on the outside, smooth and soft in the middle. Absolutely dreamy!

macarons

Unfortunately, I’m not in London, or Paris, enough to keep my habit satisfied so for ages I’ve been trying to find a recipe that meant I could make them at home. I’ve finally (after lots of failed attempts) found an easy to follow recipe to use that works every single time. Thanks to this recipe I adapted from Lorraine Pascale’s ‘Baking made Easy’ programme on BBC recently, I can now easily make macaroons to enjoy. And I’m in heaven!

Leave a Reply

