Have you gone conkers?

5 Oct

ConkersConkers remind me of the simple pleasures of autumn and of being a little girl! We had a huge tree in the front garden and every autumn I was the envy of every kid in the playground!

Autumn days were spent gathering conkers, dashing inside for tea and biscuits in front of the fire and getting them ready for battle! Cracking open the spiky green skins revealed the gorgeous glossy conker. Dad would help skewer a hole right through – carefully, without it cracking – and I’d thread string through.

I just hoped my conker (and fingers – ouch) would outlast swings from the other kids and I’d be the conker champ! So simple but oh so competitive! There’s even been a World Conker Championship every October since 1965 in Northamptonshire!

I saw these the other day walking through the woods and while I didn’t prepare for a conker battle, I did rush home, put the fire on, make a pot of amber oolong tea and grabbed the biscuit tin! Autumn perfection!

Leave a Reply

