Tea will revive you! – 6 Golden Rules of Tea Making your grandmother should’ve told you!

22 Jul

Lots of people have asked me to make a video on how to make a pot of really good tea. So I’ve been doing some research. While looking on Youtube for inspiration I came across this BFI film from 1941 and I love it!

It’s really sad to think just how far we have come from this glorious era of tea drinking and making! Where did it all go wrong? When did we stop knowing, or even learning for that matter, how to make good tea? When did we replace that fantastic huge tea-chest and tea pots for little boxes of teabags? This little film is full of fantastic little tips on how to store and make really good tea. So for now I’m going to go back to a time when we really cared about the tea we drank and how we made it.

This should help you enjoy better tea every single day. Watch and learn from the tea instructor. Funny, when I’m doing tea training with cafes, bars, restaurants and spas on how to make a good pot of tea I often feel like a tea instructor but people tend to call me the tea lady. I think I rather like the it – tea instructor! I think I’ll even test them on the 6 Golden Rules next time.

Make sure you get rid of those dusty tea bags once and for all, dust down your teapot and choose really tasty loose leaf tea. Oh and remember don’t spoil good tea with bad preparation; let every cup you make be a cup that cheers! Isn’t that right mother!

Let me know how you get on…and don’t forget I’ll be testing you on those 6 Golden Rules!

One Response to “Tea will revive you! – 6 Golden Rules of Tea Making your grandmother should’ve told you!”

  1. George@CulinaryTravels July 22, 2010 at 19:06 #

    Lovely post. Nothing beats a well made cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

