Should we ditch the latte in favour of tea rooms?

12 May

I found this article really interesting and thought I’d see if you agreed. Please comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Ditch the latte, bring back tea rooms

A majority of people would prefer to ditch their morning latte and muffin in favour of an old-fashioned cuppa in a tea room, according to a survey conducted by Country Living magazine.

“Though American-style coffee shops, such as Starbucks, have survived the recession well, 79 per cent of adults questioned said they would prefer tea and cake in a tea room to coffee and a muffin in a coffee house.

Though people in the survey said they would like to spend more time in a tea room, trading figures from Starbucks, Costa and other outlets suggest that a frothy coffee on the go continues to be the drink of choice for millions in Britain. At its latest quarterly results, Starbucks indicated that sales in Britain had increased by 5 per cent on an annual basis in Britain.

An overwhelming 96 per cent of consumers surveyed by the magazine Country Living lamented the loss of a proper British teatime, saying that they felt the tradition has fallen by the wayside because of busy lives.

Susy Smith, the editor of Country Living, said: “We’re asking people to think a little harder where they spend their money. Teatime is such a hugely British tradition. And one of the easiest ways to support the rural economy is going to have a cup of tea with friends in a tea room.

“We’ve developed a real café culture in the last decade or so, but it would be a shame if we stopped sitting down to chat to our friends over a cup of tea.”

According to the survey, tea drinkers consume on average 3.45 cups of tea a day, but only four in ten people stop and take a break while doing so – the rest are grabbed while on the move or at their desk.”

(By Harry Wallop, Consumer Affairs Editor, The Telegraph, 12 May 2010)

6 Responses to “Should we ditch the latte in favour of tea rooms?”

  1. Lynn May 12, 2010 at 17:54 #

    I find tea refreshing, especially first thing in the morning. I generally only drink one cup of Coffee a day, mid morning. After that, I drink Tea (Bags!) the rest of the day. Even on holiday in hot weather, I find tea is the only solution, for me, to quench my thirst. I would love to see more, if there are any, proper ‘Tea’ Rooms in the true sense of the word.

  2. Cheeky Spouse May 12, 2010 at 19:38 #

    I used to drink lots of coffee, then later found that it me so jittery that I switched to decaf. Since discovering that there are lots of different high quality teas available (I can’t stand dust) I’m now drinking more tea instead.
    There’s such a satisfying feeling of ritual when making tea using whole leaves and a teapot, that I’m pleasurably forced to relax and take my time.
    These days, people should be making time to wind down and contemplate more, and drinking tea enables one to do just that.
    One day I hope to have a tea room of my own, so I would be very appreciative if taking tea rivals that of a quick fix coffee

  3. jackie holden May 13, 2010 at 04:32 #

    Tea should be readily available in tea rooms, good quality loose tea, made in a pot that is large enough for at least 1-2 cups.
    Many cafes here in Spain offer a variety of teas & infusions, but mostly in bags.
    Amix cafe in Palma Mallorca Calle Vinyassa 4,
    offers loose teas, the darjeeling is excellant, tea as it should be.The atmosphere is friendly, & if you want to you can join in conversations with perfect strangers, as the topics get discussed around the clientelle, I think it has qualities of atea room, it even serves cake.

  4. Ken Titmuss May 13, 2010 at 09:21 #

    There is a tea room called Yumchaa we pass on my West End Wayfarer walk and it is always full. We once had lots of tea rooms, along with the original coffee houses. Tea is a much more refreshing, sociable and pleasurable drink.

  5. mkdanaher May 13, 2010 at 18:03 #

    Oh my gosh Yes! Bring back that wonderful sanctury of the tea room, where we can find a refuge from the hectic world, and be surronded by beautiful crockery, gorgeous cakes, to inspire us to connect with friends, time with whom is the precious and important, and all together life affirming. I too feel enthused to create a tea room, and have started to write about it – Tea with Mary Kate is about Tea, yes, but it also seeks to describe how tea, and the ceremoney and aesthtics of tea can be the inspiration for living. http://tinyurl.com/32cab28

    One of my favourite pastimes is afternoon tea, and I aspire to create a tea room with all the elements that I think are important, vintage crockery, tasty cakes, and an amazing, aesthetic atmoshere in which to relax, connect and heal ourselves with our favourite Tea & friends.

  6. jackie holden May 14, 2010 at 04:49 #

    It is very important that the right kind of china or porcelain is used for drinking tea.
    I have different cup or mug for each sort of tea. so in a tea house the crockery would be of the utmost importance.
    I don’t think there is a need for chintz, just a comfortable , welcoming & relaxed atmosphere.
    Cakes are also important, but it is possible to make low fat low sugar cakes that are delicious , the whole point of atea house is to make you feel good.
    Also when the fresh tea is served I always used to love getting the extra pot with hot water in so that I could have more tea, ok so I’d stay abit longer but I would go back. The tea could also be for sale.I am dreaming here of heaven, so arter my gorgeous 2nd flush darjeeling in my huge delicate porcelain cup I will get to work on my jewellery & conjure up ideal tea rooms while I create.

Leave a Reply

