Tea and chocolate – a girls’ favourite things!

24 Aug

I can’t wait! The ultimate treat is soon to be launched – Damain Allsop’s Tea Chocolate Collection with our very own Lahloo loose leaf tea. Me, Neil and a couple of friends have been the very few lucky ones to have had the pleasure of Damian Allsop’s tea chocolate ‘wow’ factor experience.

Damian has re-invented the chocolate by not using cream or butter in his centres, instead he uses water. His unique water-based ganache is a gastronomic revolution that, with out the cream clouding your taste buds, creates a purer, more intense flavour with a lighter texture. None of us can stop raving about the amazing chocolatier and his truly sensational chocolate creations.

I’d been thinking of trying to find a chocolatier to work with ever since my tea chocolate truffles went down a storm last Christmas at the farmers’ markets. I hadn’t found anyone who’s chocolate wowed me until I tried one of Damian’s amazing chocolates at my favourite Abergavenny Sunday lunch spot (Stephen Terry‘s the Hardwick). It was a revelation and me being me, I scribbled down the name of the creator in my notebook to look up (my notebook is bulging with bits and bobs of inspiration from all over the world).

The rest is history as they say and Lahloo and Damian Allsop are in collaboration on the most amazing chocolate ganaches I have ever tried. We have worked on 3 tea based chocolates and we present to you citrusy Earl Grey, smokey Lapsang and fragrant Jasmine encased in the finest dark chocolate. As one friend of mine said, “This Green Jasmine tea chocolate is amazing; it tastes like I’m drinking a cup of the loose-leaf tea! It’s so good!” We have already given the go-ahead on tea chocolate collection and will be soon working on some other exciting chocolate creations. So watch this space.

2 Responses to “Tea and chocolate – a girls’ favourite things!”

  1. Jason Witt August 25, 2009 at 10:52 #

    I'm going to give Kate a little break here and not email the answer even though I'd probably be one of the first ten to respond and win some free samples. That's because I live in America and I don't expect her to ship them off internationally. However, I think what she's doing by giving the chocolate a tea center is about the best thing I've heard with tea and chocolate yet. I'm hoping this will catch on and I'll find some treats like this in the states. Does anyone know where I could get tea-filled chocolate here in the US? –Spirituality of Tea

  2. Kate September 9, 2009 at 11:03 #

    Thank you, Jason. They are really good. Maybe I can send you some as there doesn't seem to be anyone making these in the US. If you email me your details I'd happily send you a sample box when they are ready. – Kate

Leave a Reply

